Ice Cream Friday’s

I sometimes wish heaven had a baby monitor just so I could listen. I know where you are and that you are ok, but this Mothers heart still worries.

May the Lord keep watch between you and me, when we are away from each other – Genesis 31:49

Something so simple as making egg salad broke me down yesterday. I didn’t even feel it coming. You see Alfred loved egg salad. So much so that he asked me to teach him how to make it. Any chance he had, he would make it. The same goes for tuna fish sandwiches, pulled pork and his favorite SHRIMP. When Al liked something, he would have it in excess. Belly aches and all! It was normal for him to go with his best buddy at least 3-4 times a week for 2 Twix bars and a half gallon of chocolate milk. I would always ask why not just one candy bar? He would say,” Because I just really like them!”

There was no guessing when Al really liked or loved something. The same was true with people. Although he didn’t always express with words you knew when you were being loved by Al. He just had a certain way about him๐Ÿ˜Œ. So when it came time for him to fulfill his love for a chocolate milkshake…. he also made sure he took care of his work family. Who he loved dearly. This became known as ICE CREAM FRIDAY’S!! Al made sure he would get to work extra early to collect everyone’s order. Yes the same Al who I could never get to get up a second earlier for school. Ice cream Friday became a second job for him and he took it very seriously. So much so that anyone he trained, he made sure they knew how to take care of Ice Cream Friday.๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’™ . I loved watching you do your job. I loved watching you love and be loved even more.


It’s been 11 months since you have been gone  You my son  were an old soul with a unique heart. Being loved by you was an honor. I only miss you when I’m breathing ๐Ÿ’™

4 thoughts on “Ice Cream Friday’s”

    1. I just realized you don’t know me and that could be taken as a very creepy thing. I’m a mother of two, still living children. My first had a very serious heart defect that required surgery. I have PTSD from it and she is now 12. As a mom your words touch me. I love reading your posts.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww, thank you for the supportโค๏ธ, no creepiness taken. I would hug you right back. Writing has been a great outlet for me.. having others support has helped me keep my sons spirit alive

        Like

Leave a Reply

